Buffalo Chicken Zucchini Boats

New Year, New Me, right? ‘Tis the season I suppose! I vowed to myself that I would cook more (and blog more!) in 2017, so here’s my debut. I know you’ve all been waiting on bated breath.


Not quite a year ago, I was diagnosed with celiac disease, and while the transition to the gluten free life has been easier than I suspected, it has been a transition nonetheless. It requires me to be more mindful of what I’m putting in my body, and definitely requires a bit of preparation and thinking ahead. So, my goal has been to cook more – which I hope I’ll achieve better in 2017…

My hope in sharing gluten free recipes is that it’s a realization that gluten free does not mean nasty and tasteless! Nowadays, there are so many gluten free subsititues (thankfully!), so virtually anything can be modified to suit my celiac needs.

I found this recipe for 4-Ingredient Buffalo Chicken Zucchini Boats from The Wholesome Dish on Pinterest, and let’s just say, they did not disappoint!


Easy to put together, and full of flavor, this is a healthy weeknight meal that comes together quickly and deliciously – and it won’t break the bank (also important). Full of chicken and cheese, with the added bonus of veggies (!!!) this was a hit, and the leftovers were just as tasty. This will definitely be making a regular appearance in this new year.

Enjoy!

Buffalo Chicken Zucchini Boats

Recipe via The Wholesome Dish

Serves 4

Ingredients :

  • 4 small-medium zucchini (about 1¾ pounds)
  • 1 lb. ground chicken
  • ½ cup Buffalo Wing Sauce (not regular hot sauce)
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Spray a 9×13 inch baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. Place a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the chicken and break it apart with a wooden spoon. Cook for 7-9 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through, stirring occasionally.
  3. Remove the skillet from the heat. Stir in the buffalo wing sauce.
  4. As the chicken cooks, cut the zucchini in half, lengthwise. Use a spoon to scoop the seeds and center out of each zucchini half, leaving a ¼ inch thick zucchini boat. Place the zucchini in the baking dish cut-side up.
  5. Spoon the chicken mixture into the zucchini boats. Sprinkle the zucchini evenly with the cheese.
  6. Cover the baking dish with foil. Bake for 35 minutes, or until cheese is browned and melted.
Leave a Reply

