Risks & Rewards

I often ask myself, “What would you do if you knew you couldn’t fail?” Haven’t we all asked that question – what risks would you take if you knew there would be no consequences?

The hardest part for me, though, is coming up with the answer to the question. I have so many things that I want to do in and with my life, but I often let fear inhibit me from taking the plunge and doing these things.

Those who know me well, and likely even those who have only briefly encountered me, know that I am an anxious person by nature. I worry and I fret and I often let my worry paralyze me. But, as I reflect on my “quarter-life crisis” and think about the worry I have about the unknown that lies ahead of me, it’s made me realize all the more that I can’t let my fear stop me from going after what I want and love.

zone

At 23, I have most of my life ahead of me (God willing), which seems odd considering people say college is the best time of your life, etc. How can the best time of my life already have passed when I still have three quarters left to live?! I certainly hope what’s best is yet to come.

So, now that I am my older and wiser 23-year-old self, I want to issue myself a challenge, and perhaps you too. Embrace the trial and error of life. Take risks, knowing that you may (and likely will) make mistakes. But, without taking these risks, you might not know what you’ve been missing out on. I guess the way I look at it is, I would rather take a risk than live with regret. Or, at least that’s what I am telling myself from here on out. Plus, with so much life left to live, can’t I afford to take a leap of faith and perhaps fall a few (million) times?

It’s easy to let anxiety stop you from trying new things or taking new adventures. It’s easy to let the fear of failure stop you from even trying. It’s easy for me at least. But, and taking one from Babe Ruth here, with this new year of life ahead of me, I am pushing myself (and you!) to not let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game. Cliche, but true.

XOXO

One thought on “Risks & Rewards

  1. Pingback: Finding Passion…and Living It | Katherine Regele

Leave a Reply

