Filtering Your Facebook Feed

In my Current Issues in Mass Communication class, there has been a lot of talk about social media because, of course, it is a major source of the world’s mass communication! We’ve talked about everything from Pinterest to Instagram, and we’ve also talked about Facebook, and how it may be on the decline.

I tend to agree with this. Facebook is probably my least favorite social media site (even though I check it constantly – ugh) because it tends to be so redundant. My favorite feature of Facebook is the ability to add photos (and to look at other people’s photos), but now we have Instagram and honestly I’d rather see one nicely filtered photo than a bunch of pictures of the same thing in a Facebook album any day.

Facebook just gets old. I mean, you run through your news feed every day and see the same people posting and the same people adding pictures and it’s just so darn annoying. It’s getting even worse as I get older.

Now, I see people my age (I’m 21) getting engaged and having kids and posting about it and it freaks.me.out. I see people posting about their amazing travels and I immediately have severe FOMO and have to remind myself that one day (after I make some money…) I can do cool things too!

So, with all the babies, engagement rings and wonderful landscapes filling my feed, I am overwhelmed and I am over it. Thank goodness Comediva came to the rescue. Check out this hilarious video “Facebook Fatigue” that so accurately describes many of us as we browse through Facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

