NOT Living in the Moment

This past week, I traveled to the Dominican Republic for my final (*gulp*) spring break. It was amazing. I stayed at an all-inclusive resort where the piña coladas flowed like water. It was heaven.

20140316-173255.jpg

While my day consisted of waking up, eating my weight at the breakfast buffet, drinking on the beach and napping, I did find myself constantly reaching for my phone to check my texts and see the latest Instagram posts – only to realize I didn’t have WiFi.

While I occasionally had WiFi and was able to check social media and text my parents every so often, I didn’t have the luxury of being able to comb through my Twitter feed every other minute.

It hit me like a ton of bricks, though, that I am exactly what I don’t want to be – addicted to my phone. I hate admitting that, but it’s so true. I’ve fallen victim to this curse that has taken over my generation.

What is it about us that makes us feel as though the world will end if we are not constantly attached to our phones getting texts and checking social media? In my case, I know it’s FOMO (Fear of Missing Out).

I never ever want to miss people’s posts because I feel like if I do, I’ve missed out on a major social event or I’m behind in some way. It’s ludicrous, really.

I was actually internally embarrassed at how hard it was for me to be without my phone this past week. I mean, I was in PARADISE and still thinking about it. It’s nonsensical.

It’s time we all pledge to really live in the moment and enjoy the beauty of the world around us. It’s all too clear to me as I approach my college graduation that time is fleeting, and we must live in the moment.

So take a minute to disconnect sometimes, and relish in it. The world will not end, I promise.

20140316-174452.jpg

One thought on “NOT Living in the Moment

Leave a Reply

