A Political Affair…with Netflix

Valentine’s Day may have come and gone, but there is no end in sight for my love affair with House of Cards.

If you don’t know what I’m referring to here, I am somewhat concerned, as you are missing out on what I will boldly call one of the greatest television shows of all time. There, I said it.

House of Cards is a Netflix Original Series, meaning that all episodes are released on the streaming service (at once) and you only hold the keys to this series if you are a Netflix subscriber.  

Image

House of Cards is a present-day political drama set in Washington, D.C. that tells the story of South Carolina Congressman and House Majority Whip Frank Underwood (Kevin Spacey). The show revolves around Underwood’s scheming and conniving plans to seek revenge on those in Congress after he was passed up for the Secretary of State nomination. There is so much more to the storyline than that, but I don’t want to reveal too much, as I assume that after you read this you will start watching the show.

House of Cards received nine Primetime Emmy Nominations last year, as well as four Golden Globe nominations. The show earned the first major acting award for an online-only web television series when Robin Wright (Claire Underwood) won the Golden Globe Award for Best Actress – Television Series Drama. 

If the awards don’t speak highly enough of the show, let me, a politically un-savvy gal, do the talking. I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t know much about politics (I know, I know, I’m terrible), but this show has made me want to learn – seriously! The show, although not based in fact, has inspired me to become more politically aware, and I think that says a lot. So, take that people who say TV makes you dumb!

Season 2 of the show went live on Valentine’s Day and I’ve never felt more loved, by someone I’ve never met no less. Thank you, Netflix.

2 thoughts on “A Political Affair…with Netflix

  1. Pingback: House of Cards: Embracing the Future | Mass Media and Society

  2. Pingback: House Of Cards In India: Why You Really Need To Watch This Show

Leave a Reply

